Skip to main content
Net zero's cornerstone: Championing corporate energy efficiency goals_FINAL

Net zero's cornerstone: Championing corporate energy efficiency goals

Mar 9 2022, 13:00 GMT - Mar 9 2022, 14:00 GMT

8:00 – 9:00am EST / 6:30 – 7:30pm IST

This session brought together leading voices to discuss the fundamental role of energy efficiency in the net zero transition, and how global businesses can accelerate it by prioritising energy efficiency.

All net zero conversations must begin with energy efficiency. The annual global rate of energy intensity improvements needs to rise to 4% to 2030, triple the rate of the past two decades, to keep us on track to net zero by 2050.

Leaders and decision makers from global businesses have a key role to play. They have the tools and influence to double-down on energy efficiency at the scale needed and in the time we have left. Despite an increase in net zero goals, the vast majority of global businesses are not focusing on energy efficiency. Only 13% of Fortune 500 companies have an energy efficiency goal, while 54% have overarching carbon emissions reduction targets (WWF Power Forward).

Why does this gap exist and how can we close it to remain on course for net zero by 2050?

Speakers:

  • Dr. Kevin Lane, Senior Programme Manager, Energy Efficiency Division, International Energy Agency
  • Dr. Noorie Rajvanshi, Director of Sustainability and Climate Strategy, Siemens USA

  • Mr. Manoj Kumar Rustagi, Chief Sustainability and Innovation Officer, JSW Cement

Read the insights article here.

PDF

Agenda_FINAL.pdf

Size: 167.61 KB

Date added: 25/02/22

Agenda